St. Agnes Academy Announces New Head of School

St. Agnes Academy
On October 20, St. Agnes Academy's Head of School Search Committee announced the selection of Dr. Karen Jakuback.
October 20, 2023
St. Agnes Academy announces the hiring of Dr. Karen Jakuback as its next head of school, beginning with the 2024-25 academic year. The appointment of Dr. Jakuback was unanimously approved by the Head of School Search Committee, St. Agnes Academy Board of Directors and the Board of Trustees of Dominican Veritas Ministries, Inc.
Dr. Jakuback has dedicated most of her career to Catholic education (27 years) and is currently the President of Ursuline Academy of New Orleans. To be positioned to lead St. Agnes Academy, she has established and executed strategic plans, developed financial acumen, encountered and adeptly managed risks for campus facilities and the community, and accomplished mission-focused philanthropic success in education and non-profit environments. Our interactions and learning throughout our search process affirmed Dr. Jakuback’s strength of character, spirituality, leadership qualities, and extensive professional experience to lead St. Agnes into the next era.
Chair of the Board of Directors Tammy Ahlgren stated, “I truly believe Dr. Jakuback is the perfect fit for the St. Agnes community, and as a Board, we are confident that Dr. Jakuback will be the strong leader St. Agnes expects. We are deeply grateful to our Interim Head of School, Deborah Whalen, for laying an exceptional foundation for Dr. Jakuback and a smooth transition for the school community.
This decision is aligned with our strategic plan “to ensure that St. Agnes Academy achieves its vision…with an effective leadership structure, including plans for succession and transition.” Currently, a committee is being formed to define and support the transition from Ms. Whalen to Dr. Jakuback, who says she is “looking forward to working collaboratively with Principal Carleen Raymond, the faculty and staff, alumnae, and board members.”
We want to express our sincere appreciation for the input and engagement of the St. Agnes community in this pivotal moment for our school. We experienced the depth and passion of commitment across all constituencies to carry the Charism of our beloved, pioneering Dominican Sisters of Houston; the dedication and fortitude of St. Agnes’ faculty and staff to ensure the minds and hearts of our students receive proper attention; and the enthusiasm for our community to continue collectively to encourage past, present, and future generations of Academy women. In addition, we acknowledge the expertise, focus, and contributions of The Education Group consultants, Karen Drawz, Marifred Cilella, and Jay Philpott, to create a collaborative and inclusive search process.
Tammy Ahlgren, Board Chair                         Polly Schott, Search Chair
Search Committee Members:
Tracy Carmen-Jones
Tammy Orozco
Gina DeBottis ’85 – Board Chair
Sr. Donna Pollard
Anne Doyle
Greg Schockling
Jeannie Joe
Polly Schott
Lindy McGee ‘92
Melissa Scott