Alumna Veritas Award

The St. Agnes Academy Alumnae Veritas Award and is awarded each year to an alumna that exhibits dedication to the St. Agnes community, and the community as a whole; as well compassion for humanity and achievements academically, professionally, and/or in leadership roles. It was established in 2004 and since then, the St. Agnes Academy Alumnae Board and St. Agnes Young Professionals Organization Board honors an alumna with the Veritas Award.

List of 2 items.

  • 2018 Veritas Award Winner

    Congratulations to 2018 Veritas Award winner LAURI SCHNEIDAU RUIZ ’77!
    Lauri is the 2019 Chair of the Dominican Family of Houston. Members of the Dominican Family are called to embody the Dominican charism, seek Truth, preach the word of God, and promote the dignity of all persons. As part of the global Dominican Family, they commit themselves to lives rooted in prayer, study, community and preaching. They do a variety of great projects in and around the city, including working to stop sex trafficking in Houston. She is a former St. Agnes Advancement Committee member, SAA Alumnae Board chair, gala volunteer, Career Day speaker, and was the 2012 Generations Breakfast keynote speaker. Lauri and her four sisters all attended St. Agnes. She and her husband, Joe, have four children; a son, Paolo, and three Academy women; Leila ’12, Natalia ’14 and Analisa ’16. Lauri is Senior Assistant General Counsel at the University of Houston.

    Lauri will be honored prior to the 2018 St. Agnes Reunion on October 6. All are welcome!
  • Veritas Award Past Recipients

    2017 – Shannon Beirne Wiesedeppe ’90
    2016 – Katie Upton Daily ’96
    2015 - Diane Knebel Watler ’72
    2014 – Conception Diaz-Arrastia Green ’78
    2013 – Carolyn Carbajal McCairns ’57
    2012 - Sr. Carol Mayes, O.P. '56
    2011 - Charla Ward Trader '64
    2010 - Mary Ann Chambers '57
    2009 - Debbie Sieck '87
    2008 - Kathy Kokas '73
    2007 - Janet Kingham Greenwood '57
    2006 - Sister Therese Warden, O.P. '51
    2005 - Eileen Antill '51
    2004 - Calista Schneidau Herbert '69


The SAYPO (St. Agnes Young Professionals Organization) Award recognizes an individual who is pursuing excellence in her career and is an outstanding representative of St. Agnes in the community. It was established in 2015 and is voted on annually by the SAYPO Board.

List of 2 items.

  • 2018 St. Agnes Young Professionals Organization (SAYPO) Award Winner

    Congratulations to 2018 SAYPO Award winner AMMIE HUDSON BLAHUTA ’98!
    Inspired by her daughter, Sadie, Ammie founded GiGi's Playhouse in 2015. Her hard work and dedication empowers individuals with Down syndrome by providing free, direct educational and therapeutic programs to those with Down syndrome, their families and the community. Ammie was recently honored by the Suburban Sugar Land Women at their annual National Women's History Project which recognizes and celebrates the diverse and historic accomplishments of women. Ammie is currently the Director of Special Programs at The George Foundation, an organization that invests in Fort Bend County to enhance the community and the quality of life of those in need.
    Ammie will be honored prior to the 2018 St. Agnes Reunion on October 6. All are welcome!

  • SAYPO Award Past Recipients

    2017- Madeline Burns ’09 
    2016 – Sara Brandino Elias ’99
    2015 (Inaugural) - Andrea Ivey Phillips ’04

2018 Veritas & SAYPO Winners

Alumnae award winners LAURI SCHNEIDAU RUIZ ’77 (top)  and AMMIE HUDSON BLAHUTA ’98 were honored prior to the 2018 St. Agnes Reunion on October 6.